Skip to content

A ‘step’ in the right direction…

May 18, 2011

So we (James & I) decided at our consulting session that I would simply concentrate on NEAT for now, measured via a pedometer.  See James’ article here.  I’ve worked out that I do roughly around 5,000 steps a day – from morning to night (working in an office).  Sometimes less, sometimes a little more. 

I’ve stopped putting it on first thing in the morning (I can do up to 1,000 steps getting ready for the day).  I figure, everyone has to do that anyway – it’s really the work day I need to track and improve upon, so I’ll put it on when I walk out the door.  Besides, you don’t necessarily have pockets in the morning!  In the evening, I’d estimate near on roughly a similar amount.

This week, I’ve had to leave my car at my mechanic each day, which is just over 1,000 steps away from my work.  This has given me 6,000 steps (without wearing it in the morning).  So, weather permitting, I may need to think about parking away from work (this would give me up around 2,000 steps a day).  And I really need to get moving more whilst at work – or I’ll have no hope of getting up ~8,000.  At the moment, I’m probably getting something like 3,000 steps on a lazy day at work.  I’d like to double that eventually (with perhaps a lunch time walk as well as moving around more), and add on that before & after work walk to the car, and I should hit 8,000.  With the morning and evening movement around the house, that should give me pretty close to an ideal 10,000 (plus I’ll eventually be adding in deliberate exercise).

Steps Per Day Activity Level
<5,000 sedentary
5,000 – 7,499 low active
7,500 – 9,999 somewhat active
>10,000 active
>12,500 highly active

http://www.10000steps.org.au/library/

Not a bad designation above.  I think hitting 8,000 during the work day is a great goal to try and hit, with extra exercise on top of that.

10,000 steps is approx 8kms (5 miles), or 1 hour 40 mins walking.

Anyway, my first goal is to consistently hit 6,000 during the working day (excluding morning & evening movement around the house).  From there, 7 & 8,000 will be the goal.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 1:47 pm

    Definitely a step in the right direction! I think the goal and plan sound good!

Leave a Reply

